FANDOM

Hello, and welcome to Final Fantasy Answers. What question do you have today?

KefkaNo

The Following content is an opinion

Do not allow it to offend or cause problems, such as flame wars. These opinions are also not the official opinions of Final Fantasy Answers, which can be taken to be a neutral point of view.

I think he was just another creation of Garland that lost sight of its true objective. Might not be fact but hell I'll believe it.

My opinion of this theory is that it is true. Because there is a sufficient amount of evidence that supports this theory A LOT!

The main theme of the game is life and death, and Necron is the embodiment of death. When Kuja destroys the crystal (which represents life), Necron appears and thinks that because the crystal is gone, it's a sign that humans have lost their right to live. The party need to prove to him that they will fight for life, and upon beating Necron he sees that humans do deserve to live because they cherish their lives so much they are willing to do anything to protect them. (I said life way too many times in that answer).

Well, for me, the theory makes enough sense to be true. And it is relieving, because it actually gives the most random final boss in the series some amount of back story and sense!

Whatever gives him a point to being in the game...Lockexceles34 20:37, April 1, 2012 (UTC)

People, he doesn't have any backstory. If you just listen to the game, you'd realise that Necron is merely the physical embodiment of death, brought to Gaia as a result of the crystal being destroyed.
I'm sorry to say, but as a huge fan of this game, I find it incredibly silly to say that Necron is Soulcage. The only evidence you have is that Soulcage says that he can't die and he'll be back.
But Sakaguchi would have made it way more obvious if that were the case. I think people need to stop looking for a deeper meaning when there is none. Just enjoy the game for what it is. MateusNamelink Dissicon ff2 Emp1 21:33, April 1, 2012 (UTC)

^I'm sorry? Everyone can enjoy the game he wants, and if they want to look for a deeper meaning, it is their problem. You have absolutely no right to tell people not to! And there is way more evidence that Necron is Soulcgae, if you actually would have informed yourself, you wouldn't say it is silly.

In that case you have no right to tell me that I can't protest the notion that the final boss is unexplainable the Iifa Tree despite looking completely different, being called something different, and having nothing but speculation to back up the claims.
I'm sorry if I seem hostile, but I am a huge fan of Final Fantasy IX, and it just annoys me when people start looking for meanings where there are none. I just wish people could enjoy the game for what it is instead of trying to add significance where it doesn't need to be added.
It's like the Rinoa-Ultimecia theory; I find it unnecessary and people shouldn't be trying to pass it off for fact because they're not happy with the game. Again, I am sorry that I'm a bit hostile but I'm passionate about this game. MateusNamelink Dissicon ff2 Emp1 09:53, April 2, 2012 (UTC)

^ "people shouldn't be trying to pass it off for fact because they're not happy with the game". THat'S the exact same arrogance I was talking about before. Once again, you have no right to tell people what they have to think. If you don't like the theory, good for you, but don't tell others not to. "trying to add significance where it doesn't need to be added" Really? There is no need for significance for the final boss? Yeah...

^ I've never played IX, I know who Necron is, and your argument is invalid. Look at Yu Yevon. Significant boss? No... Yet, I don't see people whinging about him here. Who the fuck is Zeromus? Pure anger? Bullshit. What I'm trying to say is, IT DOESN'T MATTER. Obviously your hate for the game is clouding your judgement. TidusTehSacrificer357 12:29, April 2, 2012 (UTC)
^ My hate for the game?! Final Fantasy IX is my freakin' favorite game EVER. Necron is the one and only flaw to it, and I think it is understandable that some people want to fix this flaw. It DOES matter to me, I'm sorry!

Whoah. I wasn't trying to be mean, just saying. What I'm saying is, Square has done some strange things, and nothing is going to change that. There was no backstory. End of story... Unfortunately. :( TidusTehSacrificer357 11:57, April 2, 2012 (UTC)

^Yeah, okay. I also would prefer if Square would have put in some good backstory right away. But they didn't, so the fans had to create those theories like this or R=U. It just feels better to add a meaning to what appears to be meaningless, except the personification of death thing. Necron is nothing like a manifestaion of death. Death is a nice person who lives in a little bubble universe, with a sevant and an adoptive daughter. He likes cats and has a huge interest in the people he works with. Does that sound like Necron? No. A tree, however, doesn't cares for the things around him, he just rams his roots in the world, only cares for himself. And if he starts thinking, he realizes that his existence is meaningless and boring. And then he has to see people like Kuja, who wouldn't hesitate a second to knock all of his fellow specimen down to make weapons out of them. Of course he would want to end all of existence! It all makes sense now!

...

Sorry, I don't know what got over me here^^

On a side note, this is getting to be a flame war... TidusTehSacrificer357 10:44, April 2, 2012 (UTC)
Yeah, I didn't really intend for that to happen. I guess that's the result of two Final Fantasy IX fanatics with different views. To the anonymous user, I'm sorry if I upset you in any way, I didn't mean to. I was just stating that I don't see any need to justify Necron's existence by saying he's Soulcage. Nothing more, nothing less. I hope you understand, and again, I'm sorry if it upset you. MateusNamelink Dissicon ff2 Emp1 12:29, April 2, 2012 (UTC)
^It's alright, I can understand your point of view too. No matter if you accept this theory as your personal little truth or not, Necron is an awesome reference to the heartbreaking Necrophobe battle in FFV anyway, and therefore awesome^^ And I don't want to upset any fellow FFIX fans myself, I have a hard time to find them^^
Hey, no worries, man. At the end of the day, no matter what Necron is, the game is still great and we can all enjoy it! MateusNamelink Dissicon ff2 Emp1 12:36, April 2, 2012 (UTC)
^Exactly!
I'm glad that workd out nicely. :P TidusTehSacrificer357 02:16, April 4, 2012 (UTC)

I always thought Necron being the embodiment of death is pretty funny, since if they beat him, shouldn't everyone on Gaia become immortal? lulz. Cat 14:53, April 2, 2012 (UTC)

^Well, he did say that he was still "alive" at the end, and would exist as long as there is life and death, so that wouldn't work out too well xD But at least Zidane and the other genomes should be immortal anyway.

Oops, forgot about that. *thick* Cat 23:15, April 2, 2012 (UTC)

Not to mention Necron is Greek for dead. MateusNamelink Dissicon ff2 Emp1 08:04, April 3, 2012 (UTC)

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.